Welcome to JONN.CO.UK, the UK's best website for all things TV, Gaming and Music.

Social Media

Monday, 4 February 2019

David Threlfall, Eve Myles and WWI epic Home Front honoured at BBC Audio Drama Awards

Home Front, Radio 4’s drama marking the centenary of World War One was awarded the Outstanding Contribution Award, having recently completed its four-year run in November 2018. The trophy, presented by BBC Director of Radio and Education, James Purnell, was accepted by a reunited crowd of actors, writers and producers from the Home Front team.

David Threfall’s portrayal of comic icon Spike Milligan in Spike and The Elfin Oak garnered the Best Actor award, and Eve Myles’ performance in the emotional true story, 19 Weeks, was awarded the Best Actress title. These two prizes were given by actors Emma Fielding and Shaun Dooley, respectively.

The winners were presented at a ceremony at the Radio Theatre in BBC Broadcasting House on the evening of Sunday 3 February.

The Audio Drama Awards highlight the originality and creativity of on air and online productions, celebrating talent both in front of, and behind the microphone. Actress and playwright Amelia Bullmore’s County Lines won Best Single Drama, presented by actor Danny Sapani, with The Truth About Hawaii taking Best Series for their tale of a near-future where antibiotics are no longer available.

Writer and actress, Ruth Jones presented Ayeesha Menon - a previous recipient of the Outstanding Contribution Award - with Best Adaptation for A Tale of Two Cities: Aleppo and London. Red Moon, Wireless Theatre company’s alternative history and Cold War thriller was named Best Podcast or Online Drama, presented by actress Nicola Walker.

Two of the Love Henry James series were recognised, taking home Best Sound for The Turn of the Screw, and Best Debut Performance for Daisy Head’s role as Maggie Verver in The Golden Bowl. Daisy Head was presented her award by actor Neil Dudgeon.

On the evening a new prize for Best Director was given by actor Paul Rhys to Abigail le Fleming for The Effect. Actor Anthony Head presented a second new category of Best European Drama, won by Munch and Munch - Diptych, written and directed by Jasna Mesarić, produced by Katja Šimunić for HRT Croatian Radio.

In the comedy categories judges selected Rob Newman’s philosophical Total Eclipse of Descartes as Best Comedy Longform, whilst John Finnemore’s award-winning Souvenir Programme scored another trophy as Best Comedy Sketch Show. These two prizes were presented by actor and judge, Nina Wadia, and actor James Cartwright, respectively.

2018’s Tinniswood recipient, Sarah Woods presented the Tinniswood Audio Drama Award for Best Radio Drama Script to Oliver Emanuel for his innovative post-apocalyptic story, When the Pips Stop. This was Emanuel’s second win of the evening as he is also the writer for Best Series recipient, The Truth About Hawaii. Woods also presented the Imison Award for Best Audio Drama Script by a New Writer to Lulu Rackza for her tale of friendship, Of A Lifetime. These two prizes were established by the Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain in memory of the radio drama producer Richard Imison and the radio drama writer Peter Tinniswood.

The ceremony was hosted by Tracy-Ann Oberman and featured a performance by the Jay Rayner Jazz Quartet.

Full list of winners
Best Original Single Drama
County Lines by Amelia Bullmore, produced/directed by Mary Peate for BBC Radio 4
Best Original Series or Serial
The Truth about Hawaii by Oliver Emanuel, produced/directed by Kirsty Williams for BBC Radio 4
Best Adaptation
A Tale of Two Cities: Aleppo and London by Charles Dickens, adapted by Ayeesha Menon, directed by Polly Thomas, produced by Gill Parry and Emma Hearn, Goldhawk Productions for BBC Radio 4
Best Actor
David Threlfall, Spike and the Elfin Oak, directed by Gemma Jenkins for BBC Radio 4
Best Actress
Eve Myles, 19 Weeks, directed by Helen Perry for BBC Radio 4
Best Director
Abigail le Fleming, The Effect, for BBC Radio 3
Best Debut Performance
Daisy Head, Love Henry James: The Golden Bowl, directed by Nadia Molinari for BBC Radio 4
Best Use of Sound
Love Henry James: The Turn of the Screw, sound by Steve Brooke and John Benton, produced/directed by NadiaMolinari for BBC Radio 4
Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)
Rob Newman’s Total Eclipse of Descartes by Rob Newman, produced by John Whitehall, Hat Trick Productions for BBC Radio 4
Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)
John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme by John Finnemore, produced by Ed Morrish, a BBC Studios production for BBC Radio 4
Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama
Red Moon written, directed and produced by Robert Valentine, Wireless Theatre Company
Best European Drama
Munch and Munch - Diptych written and directed by Jasna Mesarić, produced by Katja Šimunić, HRT Croatian Radio
Imison Award
Lulu Raczka for Of a Lifetime, produced by Polly Thomas and Eloise Whitmore, Naked Productions for BBC Radio 3
Tinniswood Award
Oliver Emanuel for When the Pips Stop, produced by Kirsty Williams for BBC Radio 4

No comments:

Post a Comment