Welcome to JONN.CO.UK, the UK's best website for all things TV, Gaming and Music.

Friday, 1 March 2019

ITV commissions six part drama series Glass Houses with Dawn French


ITV today announced the commission of brand new drama series Glass Houses from Genial Productions.  The new 6 x 60” series will go into production on location in South Devon in Spring 2019.

The new series will star Dawn French, Mark Heap, Julie Hesmondhalgh, Vicki Pepperdine and Patrick Robinson, with more casting to be announced nearer transmission.

Glass Houses is created and written by Mark Brotherhood and is set in a picturesque small coastal town with a close-knit community.  It follows the stories and fall out for Maggie Connors (played by Dawn French) who doesn’t pay attention to the cautionary adage that ‘those in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones’.

Maggie is a central character in town who makes it her business to know a bit about everyone’s lives.  When a radio journalist interviews her for a small reportage piece about local life she gives him far more detail (and embellishment) about the locals and their personal lives than he was counting on.  In the days and weeks following the show’s broadcast, Maggie sees the butterfly effect of how her very public gossip-fest affects various figures around the town and disrupts their lives.

Maggie has been happily married to headmaster Peter (played by Mark Heap) for nearly 40 years, and their son Jamie and his wife Becka live nearby.  Other notable residents include Maggie’s best friend Jill (played by Julie Hesmondhalgh), Brian the publican, school secretary Karen (played by Vicki Pepperdine), the town’s GP Carol, local shopkeepers Emil and Roxanna, and Kelly who works in the hair salon.  Also part-time resident is the handsome Marcus (played by Patrick Robinson), who rents a cottage to write his best-selling novels. 
 
Saskia Schuster, ITV’s Comedy Controller said
“Glass Houses is a new drama in the tradition of Doc Martin and The Darling Buds Of May, full of warmth and intriguing characters.  This new series will embrace its beautiful idyllic South Devon setting as we meet the villagers of Thurlbury and find out how an innocent afternoon spent indiscreetly gossiping has a domino effect on the whole village.“

Sophie Clarke-Jervoise, Genial Production’s Managing Director and Executive Producer said
“We’re delighted to be making Glass Houses for ITV – it’s a cautionary tale for anyone wanting to gain popularity by passing on unfounded gossip and Mark Brotherhood’s scripts are packed full of intrigue, comedy and suspense.” 

Dawn French said
“Sophie and I have been developing Glass Houses for some time and I can’t wait to finally get started in front of the camera.  It’s such a good story with a fantastic funny, touching script by Mark Brotherhood.  Let me at it!”

No comments:

Post a Comment