Welcome to JONN.CO.UK, the UK's best website for all things TV, Gaming and Music.

Social Media

Wednesday, 12 February 2020

Shortlist announced for BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2020

The 2020 shortlisted footballers are:

Lucy Bronze - England - Olympique Lyonnais
Julie Ertz - USA - Chicago Red Stars
Sam Kerr - Australia - Chelsea
Vivianne Miedema - Netherlands - Arsenal
Megan Rapinoe - USA - Reign FC

Mary Hockaday, Controller of BBC World Service English, says: “Last year was an extraordinary year for women’s football, and as it continues to grow in popularity, the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year celebrates the players at the very top of their game and underscores our commitment to supporting the sport. The award gives fans around the world the chance to vote for their favourite player and we can’t wait to see who will emerge as this year’s winner.”

The vote will close on Monday 2 March at 9am (GMT) and the winner of the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2020 will be revealed on Tuesday 24th March at 7am on BBC World Service (radio), BBC World News (TV).

Now in its sixth year, the award from the BBC World Service celebrates the very best in women’s football around the world. The shortlist is selected by a large panel of experts involved in the game from all around the world, including coaches, players, administrators and journalists based on performances in 2019, and the winner is then decided in a public vote.

The 2019 award was won by Norwegian footballer Ada Hegerberg who plays for Olympique Lyonnais and she also won in 2017. The 2018 winner was English footballer Lucy Bronze who plays for Olympique Lyonnais. The 2016 winner was Scottish footballer Kim Little who plays for Arsenal, and the 2015 winner was Nigerian footballer Asisat Oshoala who now plays for Barcelona Femení.

No comments:

Post a Comment